Seen: Painting of Man

I saw this painting of a man smoking a pipe while playing a small stringed instrument in Camden, South Carolina in 2016.  I found it on a wall in an alcove displaying pieces of furniture and lamps. It caught my eye because of the rather somber look to the man. Unfortunately, because of the nearby lamp, I was not able to take a great photograph of the painting.

man-with-instrument-camden

I do remember reading the tag and price on this painting and being very surprised at how much it was selling for. I am not the best judge of art, but I did suspect it was a bit overpriced. I don’t love much about the piece except for the man’s two props and his expression. I am not sure where one would display a painting like this?

Leave a Reply

